Unanswerable

Today my whole family stayed home together.  We had no house showings, no urgent errands, no extra-curricular activities.

DSCN6717_3227

DSCN6715_3225

I am so incredibly grateful for days spent in pajamas. 

Last week my Grandpa George, whom we all called, “Porgy” because of the nursery rhyme, “Georgie Porgy, Pudding and Pie”, left us to be with Grandma Helen.  Grandpa had just turned 92 four days earlier.  We all miss him lots, but we’re so happy that he’s no longer hurting.

grandmagrandpa 1972Grandpa Porgy, my brother, David, sitting on Grandpa’s lap. Me sitting on Grandma Helen’s lap, and my sister,  Jackie, holding my cousin, Lisa. Westport, 1972

Holiday plans for this year include meeting up with my extended family and perhaps escaping to a matinee showing of “The Hobbit”.  We saw some jovial fellows celebrating the movie’s premier while we were at the mall the other day.  A2 asked to take their picture, to which one of them replied, “Shoes off!” then they all kicked off their flip-flops in unison and struck a pose.

hobbitses

Yesterday a package arrived from Roxie.  That sweet angel of libations sent us delectible rum balls and peanut butter cookies.  The former of which, my DH decided to try, regardless of gluten content. They are quite wonderful  and I plan on indulging in several more this evening.

I claim no insight into the horrible shootings that took place this week, both at Clackamas Mall and at the Connecticut elementary school where so many sweet children were brutally murdered.   Many people keep asking, “Why did this happen?” Everyone feels angry, sad and helpless when lives end so tragically.  It’s human nature to seek answers and assign blame followng events like these because if a cause can be identified, then perhaps future catastrophes can be prevented.  People want control and stability. Some see these terrible events as signs of evil times and the end of the world, but mental illness, and downright evilness, have existed as long as man has been alive.  They are nothing new. The reality is there are so many more people alive today than there were in the past, and our ability to spread news almost instantly means that we are bombarded constatly with negative stories.  The truth is, I don’t think any of us will ever know why someone commits these atrocious crimes.  Unfortunately, unprovoked massacres go way back.  On May 18, 1927 a disgruntled school board member in Bath, Michigan blew up a school house full of children before killing himself.  Reports like these are peppered throughout history. The reason I bring this up isn’t to belittle the recent events, but rather to point out that no matter how difficult, life goes on for the rest of us.  We will never understand how someone can be so evil-hearted, about the only thing we can do is to love the people around us even more, and hopefully politics, arguments and blame can be postponed while everyone is still so emotionally raw.   My heart breaks for all of the families who lost loved ones this week.  That being said, I’m heading back in to enjoy some more time with my family. Cheers, my friends.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Unanswerable

  1. Erin

    Well said Heide Ho!

  2. knitwonpurltoo

    What a lovely way to spend a day. As for the most recent horror? I remember what Mr. Rogers’ Mother told him when he was a child. “Just look at all the helpers. ” It’s the only thing that keeps me from being overwhelmed by it. There were so many helpers. Hugs, dearheart.

  3. Roxie Matthews

    Gluten is a problem? Oh crap! I have a mind like a steel sieve! Well, next year I’ll try to figure our a gluten-free rum ball. Hmmm . . . Maybe I’ll just send the chocolate and the rum. Better yet, maybe I’ll just show up with them!

  4. So sorry to hear about your grandpa – but at least he’s not in pain anymore. I think spending time with the ones you love is the best way to deal with grief, shock and heartache…. all the best to you and yours!

  5. I had the same kind of feeling about the tragedy. It’s terrible, yes. But there is nothing we can do except pick up the pieces and move on. Dwelling on the sadness can only make things worse.

    The worst part of it is how the media is harassing those poor families ‘to get the story’.

Leave a Reply

