Daily Archives: April 10, 2013

Picturette

Good afternoon!  Just a few pictures to sum up activities from the past few days.

IMG_1004_4099

A chemo-cap mid-blocking.  I made it with handspun silk and modified a pattern that I found on Ravelry by adding a second lace edge.

IMG_1000_4095

A nifty little oak chair I picked up for $5.00 at an estate sale.  It needed a little glue in the joints to tighten it up, but otherwise it’s in great condition.

IMG_0998_4093

A very large, hand crocheted table-cloth I picked up at the same estate sale where I bought the chair. 

IMG_0999_4094

A detail picture of the table-cloth.  I can’t imagine someone spending so much time, not to mention money for materials, to make something this lovely, only to have it end up being sold for a few measly dollars at a sale.

IMG_0951_4048

A3 dressed as the Cheshire Cat and posing for tea-party pictures.  She is wearing the fingerless mitts that I knitted for A2’s Christmas present.

IMG_0950_4047

A2 as the Mad Hatter at the same mock tea party.  It was a rainy day and they were bored. 

IMG_0985_4082

A linen scarf I made using a drop stitch lace pattern.

IMG_0961_4058

Any guesses as to what is pictured above?  One week ago I would have been stumped for an answer.

geocachekaren

The lime-green device is to help people locate Geocaches. Geocaching is kind of like a GPS-assisted treasure hunt.  The red-covered pill bottle holds the geocache record sheet. The containers holding the sheet can be as small as a watch battery, or bigger than a bread box.  Sometimes small items to be used as swaps are included.  My friend, Karen, does this as a hobby with her children.  I’d never heard of it before she took me on this adventure with her.  I don’t think I will take this up as a pastime.  Not having a GPS device or a smart phone would make it a bit more challenging than I’m willing to put up with.  And if truth be told, I expect fanfare and chocolate for my efforts.  I think we found 4 or 5 while she was down.  I can’t remember the exact number.  When we get together again I might tag along for more searches.

That is about all I’ve got.  All of the major life-changing events we have planned are on hold.  It’s quite frustrating, but everything is completely out of our control.  Cheers!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized