Happy June!

Weekends are mostly spent resting and catching up on laundry at Chez Serendipitous, but today my DH and I actually made some progress on our “Chores That Nobody Wants To Do, So They Keep Getting Put Off In Hopes That They Will Somehow Get Done On Their Own Or Someone Else Will Do Them” list.   We cleaned out the front flower bed!

IMG_1155[1]

While we were mid-elbow in weeds a white car drove by slowly and circled the cul-de-sac.  I told my DH that the same people drive by at least several times a week, that I notice, to look at the house and I suspect they are the buyers who put in the short-sale offer way back in January.  Not more than 5 minutes later the car returned and the driver got out to speak with us.  He didn’t divulge who he was, but his questions about the property pretty much confirmed my belief that this is the couple who have been waiting so patiently for the red-tape to clear.  My DH gave the fellow as much information as was prudent.  We have our fingers crossed that this will wrap up soon and that these people get the house, as they obviously really want it.

Among the weeds we pulled out there were scads of bearded iris bulbs/corms (not sure which they are). Last year I gave a bunch to my sister, but there are still quite a few left.

IMG_1156[1]

In addition to these irises, we have mounds of a yellow variety popping out of the over-crowded bed near our dogwood tree.  If I take them to work with me maybe someone will feel compelled to give them a home, but I’ll feel like a murderer if someone doesn’t take them.  If they are left to wither the guilt might compel me to succumb to my sinister, dark self.  The next thing you know I’ll be sipping orphan tears and kicking puppies.  I really don’t want that to happen, so hopefully some will take these displaced flowers.

The baby blanket in progress has been frogged and started, yet again.  This yarn has been reincarnated so much that it’s suffering from an  identity crisis.  This might be its final form though.  It’s a basic Feather and Fan stitch to make a small ripple afghan.

averyblanket

In true ADHD fashion this blanket has been put on a temporary hiatus so I can make a fox hat for A2.  I bought and downloaded an adorable (at least I thought it was adorable) pattern.  A2 approached me with a picture and asked that the hat be modified to look like the picture on the left.

IMG_1158[1]

I think this is do-able. In the picture on the left the ears and nose are stuffed and there isn’t a ribbed band along the bottom.  I might end up not using the pattern at all.  She wants it in the next two days so she can wear it to school. Cheers!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Happy June!

  1. Gillian

    The next two weeks should hold some major events for you and your family. I have all my fingers crossed and I’m doing careful yoga breathing while I wait.
    Goddess be with you all. I hope so much for you.
    Cheers Gillian

Leave a Reply

