Shifting Crafts

I’ve not given up knitting, but this weekend yarn took a back seat to crafting foam, double-sided tape and an exacto knife.

20130609_1

Originally I’d planned on waiting until school ended before starting A3’s Alphonse Elric armor, but patience has never been one of my strongest virtues. Now that I’ve started I’m glad that I didn’t wait.  After many hours of meticulous

20130609_3

(and some not so meticulous) cutting, the larger pieces are done, but there are still about a zillion narrow, tabbed strips to be carved out.

20130609_6

20130609_7

I’ve been assured, by people much more clever than I could ever claim to be, that all of these little bits will somehow come together and form a helmet.  There are about 1,000 intersecting tabs to be aligned and glued.  Afterwards, it will need filler in the seams, sanding and painting.  My DH and I are heading over now to pick up more coffee. There will be no progression without coffee.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Shifting Crafts

  1. Wow! That’s quite the project!

Leave a Reply

