My Sister

Today A2, A3 and I drove up to see my sister, Jackie, because she had the day off from work.  She only lives about an hour and a half north of us, but because of work, kids and the fact that I can’t drive very well, we usually have to settle for phone calls rather than in-person visits so today was a real treat!  Last week, while looking at possible houses in Vancouver we had driven by a pile of free bricks.  I slammed on the brakes, backed up and loaded them up for Jackie. My sister has been collecting bricks for various gardening projects over the years so we delivered those to her today as well.  When we arrived she had coffee and a homemade pie waiting for us.  I’m probably going to earn a first-class haunting for saying this, but Jackie’s pies are even better than the ones that both of my grandmothers used to make. This one was made from fresh blackberries and blueberries from her garden.

20130712_19

Speaking of gardens, she has the most amazing gardens ever.  I suspect she sacrifices virgins by moonlight and waters them with orphan tears to grow vegetables to such gigantic proportions.  Her cabbages are somewhere between a basketball and beach ball in size.  Seriously.

20130712_7

It’s not just the vegetables, her entire yard is incredible.

20130712_5

20130712_3

She’s in the process of redesigning/rebuilding a pond.  This last winter her husband bought her a greenhouse.  She has created her own little oasis inside.

20130712_14

20130712_17

She has a fire-bellied toad living inside named, Teddy.  This isn’t a very good picture of him, but I didn’t want to lift the screen off of his terrarium.

20130712_15

After pie, coffee and tours of the yard we went to some garage sales.  Bargains were found to the delight of us all. I detest shopping malls, but garage sales make me happy. I brought an embryonic sock in progress, but not much “progress” was made. 

20130712_20

It is a wool, bamboo blend and I’m just making a simple cabled pattern.  It may be frogged back and packed away because I keep falling asleep in the evenings instead of knitting. 

Hopefully the whole house issue will be resolved and we can move soon.  Once we settle in then I plan on taking more trips up to see Jackie (assuming that vision and health don’t interfere with driving).  Cheers!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “My Sister

  1. Karen O

    Thanks for the tour of Jackie’s fantastic gardens! You know I detest gardening, but I admire anyone who can do it with such skill!
    I came across a yarn store today. They have a large selection of Noro yarns, which aren’t selling well. If you’re interested in some, let me know. She said she’ll probably be putting it on the sale racks soon. When you’re up in the area again, I’ll take you over. Maybe next time you can ride the train so you can enjoy the ride and knit, and I’ll pick you up. Miss you! K

  2. knitwonpurltoo

    Beautiful gardens, cool toad, fun day! Sounds perfect. And, I hope all works out for you soon. You are in my thoughts, Kiddle!!!

  3. Roxie Matthews

    Teddy the toad? Love it! Hugs to your sister. Blackberry pie is divine.

  4. TK

    Wow . . . Jackie’s yard is nothing short of amazing! Glad you got the visit in, and I hope you find a house to move into soon! Miss you!

Leave a Reply

