How I Spent My Summer Vacation

First off, let me make this perfectly clear, it does NOT feel like we’ve had a summer vacation.  We went nowhere.  We didn’t learn any new skills.  No novels were written, or even read, for that matter.  That all being said, we did stay busy.  

I had a very small garden, which is still producing tomatoes, herbs and a few zucchini. Enough of the latter was grown that for the first time in a decade I made zucchini relish.  I still need to send some to my brother in law.

IMG_2590

I continued to do volunteer work every Tuesday at Furry Friends cat rescue. I do love working with the kitties and I hope to keep helping out for a long time! 

The backyard squirrels had babies, who, in turn, began showing up as teenagers, to the backdoor for peanuts. A whole flock of young Stellar Jays and Blue Jays also appear regularly for meals.  IMG_2591

The event marking the end of each summer for us is Kumoricon.  This year we made the jump from attendees to volunteer staff members.  The month leading up to the convention was still a whirlwind of sewing, building, glueing, etc. that left the house in disarray and tried everyone’s patience.  Some of the costumes the girls cosplayed in were old favorites with updates and tweaking. While there A1 introduced her bf to the world of anime’ and even convinced him to dress up!  A2 and A3 participated in panels, one of them was in a “dating game” and both were in cosplay chess.  I didn’t get many pictures, but here are a few random shots taken both before and during.  

 creepertnt

A3’s TNT bomb for use when she played a Minecraft Creeper in cosplay chess

IMG_2701    

A1’s Ariel dress, complete with the bulbous, banded snarfblat and dinglehopper.

reconcorpsdog  

I made A2 a recon corps cape from the anime’, “Attack On Titan” and there was just enough material left over to make a mini cape for Thor.  He sports the recon corps badge too. 

grellshoes

IMG_2623

Both the boots and the items in the second picture were used in my Grell Sutcliff cosplay.  The boots were from the Goodwill and I painted the suede with red leather paint.  The “teeth” were made out of a Tylenol bottle and nail polish.  A2 wore them one day and I used something else though.  A lady at a local bead store helped make the skull eyeglasses holder. 

IMG_2704

A1’s BF wore a white apron and carried this prop flour sack so he could be Peeta Mellark while A1 renewed her role as Katniss Everdeen. I do not have any pictures of them from this day.

darksidemom

Me posing with some fellows who promised to give me cookies if I joined their club.  Sorry about the awkward pose, I cannot lift my right arm.  It still bends, it just doesn’t go up from the shoulder (Calcific tendonitis). 

registration

My DH in the bright green shirt, working the registration line.  Between the staff and attendees there were 6,824 badges sold for Kumoricon!  Not everyone was there all at the same time though. 

10419033_10204824624638537_8615806615314969991_nA1 and her BF as Ariel (the Little Mermaid) and Prince Eric. 

autumnashreconcorps

A2 as Levi and A3 as Eren from “Attack On Titan”.  A2 made her own blades.  I made the green cloak and A3’s jacket.

The school year is off to a rough start.  Offices in most districts didn’t open until the last week of August, so making changes was a mad scramble.  I wanted to register them in a hybrid program that is part homeschooling and the girls would meet up several days a week at a campus.  A2 was accepted into one of these programs, but it’s about 30 minutes away, but because of her grade level being full, A3 had to return to her former public school.  On September 15th I have a meeting at a closer district that offers a similar program.  I’d love to get both of them in the same school, or at least in the same town. A3 is still working as a nanny.

Not much of a knitter lately, mostly because my right shoulder is messed up and it makes my arm and hand hurt. I did start a shawl, but I’m not really feeling a connection with it. It’s future is iffy.

IMG_2729

I have requested surgery to remove the calcium build up.  Hopefully once that is fixed regular knitting can resume.  I miss having something to do.  Cheers!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “How I Spent My Summer Vacation

  1. knitwonpurltoo

    I have enjoyed following your exploits on FB, but it sure is nice to see you update your blog. I oughta try it myself, huh.

  2. Looks like you all had a blast – and I really want to steal those boots!

Leave a Reply

