November Post

We (the royal ‘we’) completely skipped blogging during October. This home school schedule completely eats my days… and many nights as well.  Anyway, here are some of the non-scholastic happenings from the past 6 weeks. 

I finished one pair of wool socks,

IMG_2892

and one very large shawl. Both are slated as Christmas presents.

blueshawl

A2 and A3 met with friends for a chilly, costumed, picnic in a park.

meetup1028

My DH and I met up with one of my old high school classmates for dinner.

IMG_2861

We rescued a sweet kitty, who has been named Niko, who is now residing in a local rescue agency’s halfway house. The story behind her is rather lengthy, but in summary, my DH and I drove past a young girl on a street corner with a sign that said, “Free Cat” that she and a friend found in a dumpster.  She couldn’t keep her and after almost a week of her being in our garage, with no response to a flyer posted where she was found, she went into the shelter’s care.  She has been spayed, vaccinated and is gaining weight.  I visited her yesterday and she was playing happily with a stuffed mouse.

IMG_2880

We had our annual pumpkin massacre,

IMG_2893

and then we all dressed up for Halloween.

halloween2014

photo (1)

Temperatures have dropped suddenly here, and everywhere else in the country. Lots of yard debris has blown down. I made a half-assed attempt at cleaning, but the winds are expected to continue over the next few days.

 branches

A growing icicle spotted a few hours ago means we need to check the gutters and downspouts soon.

icicle

Yummy new yarn waits impatiently to be turned into more Christmas presents.  I need to shake a leg… er needle.

newyarn

A3 began creating these adorable little hearts out of paper.  They’re happy, fun, little, tokens to find around the house.

a3stars

A1 gave Thor a haircut.  Unfortunately, it’s a bit cold for the little guy now to go outside.  We have become one of “those” families who dresses their animals and Thor now wears a coat for walks.  Sorry buddy! 

baldthor

We’ve not made Thanksgiving plans yet. That would require organization and foresight, both of which are scarce in our home. Hopefully knitting will fly off of the needles and it won’t take so long for the next update. Until then, stay safe my friends!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “November Post

  1. Ya’ll are so very busy. I don’t know how you ever found time to work outside the house. You look good and I hope you are feeling well. We went from 60F last Monday to 30 and awakened to 15F this morning. WTF!

  2. Gillian

    I haven’t done a post for ages either. I’ve been busy. Promise! but I have no photographic evidence as pretty as yours. I’ve been doing a teeny bit on facebook cos everyone else does and I felt a bit left out but I miss the old blog days. I used to check mine daily and comment on everyone elses’.Glad you are all keeping well. M
    My second sister has also been diagnosed with MS and she is fighting her symptoms with diet and exercise and megadoses of vitaminD. She follows the ideas of Jelinek and the OMS group. So far so good.
    Glad you are keeping well and the family are all fine.
    Happy Thanksgiving to you all
    Cheers Gillian

  3. The shawl is stunning! And Thor looks fabulous!

Leave a Reply

