A Delightful and Nutty Adventure

Saturday I was lucky enough to be able to attend one of Roxie’s  tea and knitting soirees.  Usually I factor getting lost time into my travel plans, but even that planned allowance wasn’t enough to compensate for my inability to follow directions.  Eventually I found my way to her delightful abode.  A sumptuous feast, surrounded by new and delightful people was inside, already enjoying the company and refreshment. 

Time flew by quickly in a mix of laughter, chatting, eating and song.  Sporadically the ladies would burst forth with offerings from The Sound of Music or other musicals.  They sounded fabulous… such rich and harmonious voices! Of course I didn’t sing, that would have ruined the effect.  The entire meal was  nut-based.  There were hazelnut chocolate cupcakes, peanut butter cookies, almond biscotti, cashew & chicken salad sandwiches, macarons (not macaroons) and other delights as well.  When it was time to leave Roxie packed up two huge bags of baked goods to take home to my DH and daughters.  All have been consumed, except for a few lone crumbs in the bottom of one of the ziplock bags.  The other bag (the one containing the macarons) was turned inside out and literally licked clean. 

Thank you very much for inviting me Roxie.  This was the most fun I’ve had in ages and everyone was delightful.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “A Delightful and Nutty Adventure

  1. Roxie

    Oh Heide, you just MADE my whole week! It was so totally delightful to meet you in person, and I am blown away by your post! Please come again. Please, please, please!! You fit in so well and you are such a delight to be with. And you will take home leftovers!!

    Your photos totally rock! I hope you don’t mind if I link to you. You make me look SO good!

  2. Sounds like you all had a great time! What a nutty bunch! Hugs, K

  3. knitwonpurltoo

    OMG. Heide. We were separated at birth. I get lost all the time, too!!!I’m so glad you got to go and have fun with new fiberly friends. Sounds like a fabulous time!!!

Leave a comment