Daily Archives: July 2, 2007

Pre-Holiday Weekend

On Friday evening an ominous sky threatened to spoil our weekend plans as we motored out to my parents’ home.

image0049.jpg

But Saturday morning dawned bright and sunny, perfect weather for an old fashioned 4th of July parade.  We claimed our usual seats to view the festivities.

image0051.jpg

Parade entries included both the traditional

image0053.jpgimage0052.jpgimage00551.jpg

as well as a few unique offerings.

image0054.jpg

Following the parade we ventured over to my Uncle and Aunt’s house for hotdogs, visiting and entertainment.

image0058.jpg

I slipped out to their studio to take a few shots of the artwork in progress.  My Uncle Wally has a showing this next Friday at a studio in Ilwaco, WA.

image0057.jpg

That evening the girls, Grandma and Grandpa and I went down to the North Cove jetty.  I don’t know who had more fun, but they searched among the rocks and tide pools for crabs and other sealife as the sun set.

beach.jpgimage0059.jpgimage0060.jpg

image0061.jpgimage0062.jpgimage0064.jpg

Sunday morning the three girls entered a sand castle building contest

image0067.jpgimage0068.jpgimage0069.jpg

From there we ventured back to my mom and dad’s for a quick lunch before coming home.  I finished a sock while there too.  My DH was stuck at home due to work requirements so he missed out on all of the fun.  Hopefully we’ll all get to do something together on the 4th though.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized