Owl Alert!

 A few minutes ago the doorbell rang. Upon answering it I discovered a very confused looking muggle postal worker. She inquired as to why a package had the word “Owl” written on it as I signed for the box.

And what was in the box? Well my very own Ravenclaw House socks of course, knitted by Chris (aka Susan Bones) of WoolybunsWithout enchanted needles! Also inside were very lovely handmade stitch markers, a pair of Inox circular needles a copy of “The Magic Loop” book, a beautiful snowy owl and a rather large bar of dark chocolate to ward off night time dementor attacks!  The lovely socks are the Horcrux Pattern and they fit like a dream! I may never take them off again.

 image0087.jpg clawsocks.jpg

THANK YOU CHRIS! (please excuse the bad picture of the socks being worn.  The strange angle makes them look look really short and wide… wait a minute, maybe that’s just what I look like!)

Oh and this morning  I  read about another great contest for you knitters out there.  Head on over to http://www.shellykang.com/2007/07/contest.html to enter. 

And don’t forget you also have until midnight on Wednesday to enter the one here as well.  And in case I failed to mention it, the prize here is for a skein of Socks That Rock!  And a  prize for those of you who don’t knit… isn’t it time you learned?  I’ll try to think of something. 

P.S. that unidentified cat on KitKatKnit’s site is really annoying me.  Somebody please come up with an answer soon.

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “Owl Alert!

  1. What a fabulous package! I love the socks, owl and, honestly, that card is darling.

  2. Hooray for Owl Post! I’m so glad you were spoiled so well…you certainly deserve it after spoiling me!! Can you believe that HP7 is this weekend already?? You can bet that I’ll be wearing my Hufflepuff house socks with pride as I dive into chapter 1!

  3. Hello Everyone, Heide’s Dear Husband here. I just wanted to let all of you know that tomorrow (7/18) Is Heide’s 40th Birthday. Remeber to wish her a Happy Birthday.

  4. Hey what neat socks! Lucky you!! And I’m very envious of that owl. I love owls. Have a nice little collection of stone, wooden and pottery ones now. Thanks for the link to Shelly’s contest. :o)

  5. Wow! Just in time for your birthday! Happy Birthday to YOU…happy birthday to Yooooou! Happy birthday dear Heideho….Haaaaaaappy birrrrrthdaaaayy tooooooo yoooouu! 29 years old. Wow! How time flies! You don’t look a day over 25! Just like me! What a great collection of sock stuff and owl! Emma and I have been listening to book 1 on disk (just ’cause), and I’ll be receiving my book by owl (an Amazon Owl) on Saturday. Can’t wait!! I wonder how heavy the mail truck will be with all the copies? I went to figure out the cat painting, went through hundreds of artworks online, and I gave up. I dunno. Love ya! KO

  6. They fit?? They fit! Yay! I so hoped they would.

    Have a very happy birthday! And many more to come (just not too fast).

  7. Oh! I’m jealous! What a fabulous package! Happy Birthday! Forty is freeing – have fun and plan one of those life goals (whether from your original list or your new one).

  8. I left you a birthday candle at my blog http://kitkatknit.wordpress.com/

    HBTY!!!

  9. Lovely, lovely package! And happy birthday!!!!

    I want to know where that cat is from too. It’s driving me crazy.

  10. outdoorluvnrookiequiltr

    Happy 40th bday HP…and thank you BP for the reminder!!!

  11. Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you, happy birthday dear Heide…………happy birthday to you. (imagine singing, please). BP reminded me, too, and thanks, but I already screwed up and sent a card too early. Do not ever share a surprise secret with me….I screw them up.

  12. Happy Birthday! I asked my art history professor friend what was that cat and she didn’t know! Said she’d’ve known the dog in the Renoir, but the cat must be some obscure 20th century piece, based on its eyes (??)! Nice pkg!

  13. Marion

    Happy Birthday!

  14. Happy, happy birthday, dear Heide! All the very best to you – may all your dreams and wishes come true in this new year of yours!
    And woah, this goodie package sure arrived just in time – lovely stuff in it, and those socks are so gorgeous! Enjoy everything!

  15. Pingback: WTF Wednesday « Serendipitous Opportuknitty

Leave a comment